Thankful – ness

I have a lot to be thankful for.

And my claim as we went around the table this year was that I didn’t have much to be thankful for this year, and for that I was thankful

I was called on the mat for this by my father who thought it was lame.  BUT

This Year (unlike the past 3 years):

I DON”T have to be thankful for the fact that I didn’t die in the hospital when my uterus ruptured (that was sooo last year). 

I DON”T have to be thankful for the fact that I didn’t die when my fallopian tube ruptured (that was sooo the year before that).

I DON”T have to be thankful for the fact that the breat biopsy was  negative (2 years ago).

I DON”T have to be thankful for the ultrasound that proved it was just a shadow on the xray when they checked my husband’s side pain (3 years ago).

I DON”T have to be thankful for the fact that my husband finally left the job that was breaking his spirit, or be thankful for the new job that isn’t  (last year).

I DON”T have to be thankful that my son breezed through ear tube, tonsillectomy and other assorted ENT surgery like a champ (last year).

I DON”T have to be thankful for the fact that my mother survived pneumonia, twice, and barely (3ish years ago).

Compared to the years we’ve had recently.  This year was fairly non-eventful.

And for that I am very fucking thankful.

One thought on “Thankful – ness

  1. amen to that.

    I hear every word of it. And my New Year’s Resolution? I aim to have zero parts of me cut out of or off or my body and placed in a jar to be sent to a lab.

Leave a Reply

