Things I know and love

 

This is a picture of my love at the track this weekend.  This is what he loves.  That’s it.  His list at the moment is exactly one item – this moment.  My list follows.

1.  Jesse Cook

He is a guitartist (spelled wrong on purpose).  He plays a mean guitar.  His music is made from a guitar.  I love his guitar music.  (I am listening to it now).  It both soothes and invigorates me. 
I am listening to Tempest.  It rocks, er strings…

2. My Family room

It has walls.  And a ceiling.  And while I wouldn’t recommend our drywall dude – it’s done.  And I didn’t have to do it.   win.  win.  It’s like a grown-ups room complete with semi-new furniture.

3. Our new recliners

Oh Craiglist how I love thee.  A main line mom was redecorating.  Perfectly good chairs in perfect working order.  To the kids it is like having an amusement park ride in the family room.  I should charge admission.

4.  Our new puppy*

No, not the one we got a few months ago (but him too), the one that we got last weekend.  (Oh yes, yes we did)  Yay puppy love!

5.  The name of our new puppy.

Her name is Cora.  But my husband spells it with a K and says it like SLAYER screaming into the mic.  He is the only person I know who can make a little old lady name sound metal.  Welcome Kora!

6.  My “old man” dog.

I have taken to cheerleading my eleven-year old shepherd* up the three steps from our back yard “Come on Old man”.  I will be surprised if he makes it through the winter.  It breaks my heart.

7.  Life as we know it

I find that I am in a good place at the moment.  I am focusing on the me I want to be instead of the me I am and it feels good.  Some of that leads to frustration but it is still progress.

6. Challenges

See above.  I am faced with a number of them at the moment.  And they might not all work out well, but they will work out.  And I am comfortable in the fact that, like my curly hair, there are some things you can’t change and you just have to go with the flow.

7.  The fact that I don’t have toddlers anymore

I was looking through old photos.  God do I love the kiddos I have now, and boy do I miss the little ones they were then.  And I can’t wait to see what will happen next.

*both of these photos are actors playing the part of my dog.  Close but not quite.

Leave a Reply

