Defining Beauty

I stumbled upon this:

http://insidecurve.lanebryant.com/buzz/the-lingerie-commercial-fox-and-abc-didnt-want-it/

It’s a link to a message Lane Bryant posted on the site in response to the fact that ads for their plus size lingerie ads have been edited or refused by stations who have victoria’s secrets ads running in the same slot this ad was scheduled for.

Now, who knows?  There may be something in this ad that upsets Fox and ABC.  Something beyond buxom, full figure girls in lingerie.  I haven’t seen the ad.  (there is a link but I didn’t click it because I don’t really like watching videos on my computer (huh! I didn’t realize that about myself until I typed it) but let’s assume for a moment that there is nothing more.

Nothing beyond the idea that these major networks don’t want to show over weight girls in their “unmentionables”.  What does that mean?  What message does that send us, their viewers.

I am actually not going to give you my opinion on the matter.

I don’t think I should have to.

One thought on “Defining Beauty

  1. I don’t get it. I don’t see a thing wrong with. They claim it was the tone of the add (she was getting ready to go have sex or something) but it’s ok for VS girls to shake their groove thing as long as no one pictures them having sex or something. What a crock of you know what.

Leave a Reply

