The Black List

Recent discussion here.  Made me think about books I have read by black authors.  Turns out I’ve read quite a lot of them.  Here are some of the ones that stuck with me for one reason or another:

Their Eyes Were Watching God – Zora Neale Hurston

Possessing the Secret of Joy -Alice Walker

The Color Purple – Alice Walker

The Bluest Eye – Toni Morrison

Beloved –Toni Morrison

I know why the caged bird sings – Maya Angelou

African writers:

Things Fall Apart – Chinua Achebe

There’s more, of that I am sure.  But those are the ones that leapt to mind when I thought about it.

I hope you check one out!

2 thoughts on “The Black List

  1. Those are some of my favorite books! Alice Walker is among my favorite writers of all time!

    Haven’t read the last one, though. Will have to check it out.

  2. Richard Wright’s Native Son and Black Boy changed my life.
    And I love Maya Angelou, but I can’t help thinking about David Alan Grier doing the Butterfinger endoresment thing.

Leave a Reply

