Peace

So, She Started it, made me think about the concept of peace.

Because, well obviously, our president just won an award for this.  The Nobel Peace Prize.

And here’s the thing:  Peace is just an idea.

It’s sad, but true.

It is nothing more than a concept.  A theory that has never been proven…not really.  And to say that President Obama didn’t earn this award is true but, also, it’s not true.

Because he has already done a lot to promote this concept.  He has already done a lot to support our ability – as a nation – to remember to believe in the idea at all.

And I commend them for choosing him BEFORE he proves he will fail.  BEFORE he fails to bring a peaceful resolution to our wars.  BEFORE he fails to find a peaceful resolution to the conflict in Israel and the middle east.  BEFOFRE he fails to stop genocide – somewhere.

Because he will fail.  (they all fail)

But he will also succeed.  And he has already succeeded.

He brought a hope for peace that the nation, the world, didn’t have before his election.  He reintroduced us to the concept, allowed us to feel it, and even hope for it.  He has changed the face of our culture.  He, and we by electing him,  have changed the way our nation is perceived by the rest of the world.

And for all of this he deserves a prize.

And it is fitting that it is a nobel one.

For the first time in a very long time.  We are trying to be noble.  Trying to do the right thing.  For our people.  For our nation.  And for the world.

And for every voice that raises against that with talk of birth certificates, tea parties and fascism.

There is this.

The Nobel Fucking Peace Prize.

And like She Started It, I hope he lives up to the promise they acknowledge by bestowing it.  I hope he will be remembered well as this, the third US President to ever win the award.

But more than that, before he is done, I hope he deserves another.

* * *

Edited to add the text of the email that Barry sent me on Friday.  In case you guys aren’t on such good terms with the Prez.  We’re tight.

Choosy* —

This morning, Michelle and I awoke to some surprising and humbling news. At 6 a.m., we received word that I’d been awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for 2009.

To be honest, I do not feel that I deserve to be in the company of so many of the transformative figures who’ve been honored by this prize — men and women who’ve inspired me and inspired the entire world through their courageous pursuit of peace.

But I also know that throughout history the Nobel Peace Prize has not just been used to honor specific achievement; it’s also been used as a means to give momentum to a set of causes.

That is why I’ve said that I will accept this award as a call to action, a call for all nations and all peoples to confront the common challenges of the 21st century. These challenges won’t all be met during my presidency, or even my lifetime. But I know these challenges can be met so long as it’s recognized that they will not be met by one person or one nation alone.

This award — and the call to action that comes with it — does not belong simply to me or my administration; it belongs to all people around the world who have fought for justice and for peace. And most of all, it belongs to you, the men and women of America, who have dared to hope and have worked so hard to make our world a little better.

So today we humbly recommit to the important work that we’ve begun together. I’m grateful that you’ve stood with me thus far, and I’m honored to continue our vital work in the years to come.

Thank you,

Your man, Barry*

*some names have been changed to protect my imagination…

One thought on “Peace

  1. I like how your imagination works. I was shocked to hear it, knew of the ramifications and almost felt embarassed for him because I knew the tea baggers were gonna flip. Sigh. But seriously? Couldn’t happen to a nicer guy, despite the fact that he did or didn’t deserve it.

Leave a Reply

