It’s not fair

I have become a single mom on Saturdays. Every Saturday I kiss my husband off to work at 7:30am and don’t see him again until almost Sunday (11:30pmish).

And at first this pissed me off.

And to be fair, it still kind of pisses me off.

But ya know what? My kids are fun.

And yes, I know this. And I knew this but it’s still fun to say and remember.

I am not a stay at home mom for a reason. That reason is my sanity. And I have never been one to judge anyone else’s decisions because, well I would hope no one else is judging mine.

But I am certain that I am a much better mom to my kids because I work.

And I am positive that they would like me less, and I them, if we spent every minute of every day together.

And if that turns you off. Off you go.

So. Having said all that. I resented the fact that I had to tackle the enormity of ONE WHOLE DAY all alone with my kids. (I also resent the fact that I don’t get that day with my husband but that’s a story for another day).

But then I decided to make that day fun. (I know, I am brilliant.)

So, we do fun things. Like go to the park, the aquarium, the orchard, the play house. We go out for at least one meal. We visit daddy at his store.

And we do things that are *gasp* spontaneous.

Like when you’re sitting in a Wendy’s and hear the family next to you threaten their son with no rides if he doesn’t finish his meal, you ask where the fair is.

And when both of your kids ask you what a fair is. You take them.

Even though it’s almost bedtime. Even when I only had a twenty in my pocket and I had to park four blocks away.

Even though I was alone in a huge crowd with two toddlers clasping my hands and I was certain, certain, I would lose one.

We went.

And rode the ferris wheel and a car ride and walked around looking at the lights.

And it was more than fair – it was wonder-ful.

3 thoughts on “It’s not fair

  1. I am always so scared when I am faced with a full day of caretaking. I would panic with two full days and two full kids.
    But it sounds like you are doing just fine!

Leave a Reply

