A lot to say

I find it fascinating that the title of a blog could so clearly effect it.

My blog used to be called Your God Loves Me Too.  And I started it because I truly believe the sentiment.  Every religion that I have ever studied preaches acceptance of everyone.  The people who practice each religion – not so much.

So that was my blog name.  And an agnostic writing about religion and god was a bit much for some.

And I got a few comments that made me, hmmmm, scared shitless. (know any Palestinian bombers with blogs? yeah, me neither.)

So I moved.  Changed my name and switched services.  Sort of like witness protection.

And while all of those things were not necessarily all related, they did happen at around the same time.  And in retrospect I totally let the terrorists win…*

And when I changed the name of my blog, my blog changed.  And it proved that a rose by any other name might in fact smell like well ( let’s be nice), lavender.

Because the Life you Choose has been a whole lot more about me as a mom than I ever intended.  And the Life You Choose has been about my life.  Which makes sense.  But I really meant it to be about “our” life and the things that effect “our” world.

It’s possible that I just turned internal around the same time I started this new blog.  But I’m not sure that’s so.  Either way I am committing (being committed?) to addressing some of the bigger issues.  The ones that make the hackles on the back of my neck stand up as I growl.

And so, in no particular order, I am going to vent.  (Stand back a little, I don’t want the steam to burn you.)

1. Advance Directives.  NOT A F”ING POLITICAL DECISION!  The fact that right wing conservatives are standing up to say that these forms mean that the government can make decisions about your care without your consent is so bassackwards that I haven’t even been able to get my hands around it.  If you DON’T have these documents you run the risk that your wishes won’t be followed.  Not the other way around.

I work in this field and I am a little close to this issue to speak objectively, but let me just say that these documents have no right age range,  no religious or political affiliation, and no distinctions that make them more applicable to some than others.  So.   If you don’t have a living will and a health care power of attorney yet – take the time to complete one.  GO HERE.  You’re welcome.

2. Obama.  I know that I have been strangely quiet about the president.  I know this.  I have had a hard time trying to articulate exactly how  I feel.  And let me lead by saying I am hopeful.  Still.  And at the same time I am shattered by the rhetoric that rises up against that hope.  OUR HOPE.

And even though I accepted it years and years ago, I am still amazed by our eagerness as a species to be lead.  And those that won’t follow Obama, are ‘choosing’ other “leaders”.  There is a quote from the American President that resonates with me so strongly:

” …the people want leadership! In the absence of genuine leadership, they’ll listen to anyone who steps up to the microphone. They’re so thirsty for it they’ll crawl through the desert to a mirage and when they discover there is no water, they will drink the sand.”

There are a lot of  thirsty people out there with sand on their lips.  And most of them don’t even take the time to LOOK to see that it is sand and not water – they just drink.  And then they tell their neighbors to drink.  And  they tell their neighbors, and no one takes the time to look.  They just all stand around happy in their sandy fullness.

If you ask people what they want, how they feel.  It falls in line.  It goes straight.  Not left or right.  But.  But.  But.  but we can’t pull it together.  Or we won’t.  And we have to.

Because I refuse to drink sand.

3. Healthcare, the economy, and other inconsequential items… Well mostly,  see number 2.  But I will say that I cannot contemplate how as a nation we accept that our taxes will pay for education but not  healthcare.  I do feel that education is important.  But if kids can’t breathe, they can’t learn.

And is it the kid thing?  Would this whole issue be different if we started there?  What if healthcare reform just meant that school age children got free healthcare?  Would that be something we could agree on?

That’s not the whole solution.  Not by a long shot.  But it is a solution.

4.  Democracy is hard.  Look around at nations around the world  (try the Middle East) if you doubt that statement.  There are many who would prefer a dictatorship.  There is an ease in that situation.  It requires nothing of you (well fear and abject servitude).  BUT you are not called on to think, compromise, or act.  All of those things are tied to a successful democracy.

As I tell my children:  anything worth doing is usually hard to do.

That is democracy.

Stolen from Wikiedia:

In political theory, democracy describes a small number of related forms of government and also a political philosophy. Even though there is no specific, universally accepted definition of ‘democracy’,[4] there are two principles that any definition of democracy includes, equality and freedom.[5] These principles are reflected by all citizens being equal before the law, and have equal access to power.[6] Additionally, all citizens are able to enjoy legitimized freedoms and liberties, which are usually protected by the constitution.[7][8]

And while technically we live in a republic, not a democracy.  The ideas still stand.

And so must we.

* note: I don’t actually believe any of that crap.

4 thoughts on “A lot to say

  1. THANK YOU for the link for advance directives. I have a list that a never attend to (including making a video diary of the contents of our house in case of fire and updating our wills) and the whole advance directive/medical POA has been on that list for longer than I care to admit. Thank you for the nudge.

    I also refuse to drink sand. : )

  2. Pingback: Up all night « She Started It

  3. Chooosy,
    You may already be aware, but Aaron Sorkin, who wrote “The American President” and “The West Wing”, based portions of the characters of Lewis Rothschild, Leon Kodak, Toby Ziegler, and Josh Lyman on Rahm Emanuel. So for you to be thinking of Lewis’ great speech during a real-life crisis is probably exactly what Sorkin and Emanuel would want!

Leave a Reply

