A post with no purpose

As I sat on the toilet seat last night (it was closed, just for your visual reference) and shaved my feet with a cheese grater in the shape of a pink plastic egg, I thought about life.

First off.  My mother gave me that foot grinder.

For Christmas.

I used to get dolls, clothes, money and other stuff of fantasy.

Now.  I get a foot file.

And then I thought about my little ones and how they are decidedly not so little any more.

Toddlers.

Clearly on their way passed toddling.

And I reflected on my marriage.

And how I am still as in love now as I was then.  Even though and/or because we have been through so much more together.  And as a couple, we too are way passed toddling.

And I thought of the little soul who should have been a part of this family circus.  And I am wondering if it is a place at our table that will always be empty.

And then I opened up the little cup, and flushed it’s contents – and my musings – away.

Because somethings just should not be reflected on at 10pm.

Especially not while you are using a cheese grater on a body part.

Damned Ped Egg.

5 thoughts on “A post with no purpose

  1. That little soul IS a part of your family circus.

    Sometimes people, no matter how many inches long and no matter if we ever get to see their face, are only in our lives for a very short time for some sort of reason or teach us some sort of lesson.

    So I like to think.

    • um. yeah it works!
      Don’t you know that mommy’s are always right?
      She gave one to me and my brother because she LOVES hers.
      It’s good stuff.
      Totally gross idea, but good.

  2. My mom has given my sister one about six times because she keeps forgetting she has already given my sister one and hasn’t given anyone else one (there are six more of us) and my sister’s feet look like crap because she walks around barefoot all the time. I come in second in the shitty feet category because I wear flip flops at least. Most of the time. Or not.

    But seriously, I want the ped egg. Just do’nt wanna buy it myself.

  3. Never heard of the ped egg! I’ve been missing out!

    Those empty places at the table stay empty for those little babies, no matter what children follow. It’s a reservation never filled, but always there to remind us about who might have filled the space.

    I kind of like that…

Leave a Reply

