the life you choose

Domestic Goddess posted a link to this article.  Which is about how we have to get over the “mommy wars” and work together to make change for all families.

Which made me  think once again about the mommy wars and my role in it.

I work full time.  If I had my wish I would work a little less than full time, but I would still work.

I admire and respect every mother I know who lives the life they do.  I respect their choice.  I respect their day to day role in their family.  I respect the fact that they are moms, just like me, making hard choices and sacrifices every single day for their children and their families.

Even in this I am pro-choice.  I think every woman in the world should have the support (and that means money) they need to make the choice they want when it comes to their family. 

And I do agree that this should be our common ground – no matter what you feel is your leaning in this issue.  We should all be working to make the laws support the life that each of us chooses to live.

And I think this is a family issue.  I think men should have these same options.  The only stay at home scenario we seriously considered was one with my husband at home.  And I think he should have that choice.

And I don’t know the answer.  I don’t know how we  get to a place where everyone has equal choice in this matter.

But I can tell you that it at this point, it feels like we aren’t even asking the right questions. 

Because we all seem to ask “Why is this so hard…?” as we look at someone else’s choice with envy.

And no matter what our choice is – we should all be asking “How can we make it easier?”

3 thoughts on “the life you choose

  1. I’ve had that article bookmarked for days now but I can’t seem to get to it!

    Also, my poor kid is a wiggle worm. He dances constantly, so he had to be held down! It’s creepy tho, and I really wanted to make a note about the fact that it wasn’t being shaved against his will but I forgot!

    And people do always feel like they need to say something about your kids. I think that if you don’t do something just like they do (haircuts or otherwise) they take it as an insult to their way of doing things. It’s so annoying.
    I love the little mohawks!

  2. You know, I stay home sorta by choice. I mean, we started out choosing it because I didn’t make much money and daycare is expensive. Now that the kids are in school we really, truly need me to work. But family issues and weird special ed schedules get in the way. So I babysit. Which I tolerate. I used to love it (and prefer those potty trained and older) but it has been NINE YEARS, YO.
    Still, I want to go back. Part time at least. But family issues prevent it. But the money could really come in handy. To, I dunno, build a deck over that mudpit in my back yard?

Leave a Reply

