Greatest Vacations Ever

So I live from one vacation to the next.  This is how I operate.  My philosophy is that Life is what happens to you while you are on vacation.  My memories of my childhood involve the vacations I took.  Not the day to day.

So in essence, I am forming the lasting memories my kids will carry through with them to adult hood.

And it’s fun.

I enjoy the planning.  I enjoy the packing.  I enjoy the flight,drive or train ride.  I enjoy the WHOLE DAMN thing for the most part.

I am happiest when I know when my next vacation will be.

Right now, mama ain’t happy.

And to top it off.  Mama will be soloing whatever trip she takes with the babes this summer.  Because BabyDaddy has a new job and no vacation time.

So.  I am fishing for ideas.

If you have any thoughts I would appreciate it.  And just for fun I am listing the places I  have been (in no particular order of importance).

Because reliving a vacation is yet  another great reason to go on vacation.

Barbados

The Bahamas – a cruise

Bermuda

The Mayan Riviera in Mexico (no pig flu then)

Rehoboth Beach

Assateague Island

London

Greece

Disney World

Majorca Spain – All time BEST BEST BEST vacation ever!  Happened to be my honeymoon…

And a whole lot of  “camping”.  Like here, here and here.  All of those places were fun in their own way.

I provided links to the places I stayed when possible.  Some places we rented a house.

Please send me some of your all time favorite places.  I need some inspiration.

And I need to live vicariously through others for a while.

And my link for Disney World is the truth a joke.  We actually had a fun time there.  But still…

One thought on “Greatest Vacations Ever

  1. I would be happy to do a moms-and-kids beach house with you if you want. I’m a fan of the Jersey shore just in general but also because it is close, there are Acmes and good takeout joints, and just a ton of fun things to do. And you can invite friends for day trips.
    Before the older one is too old to be interested, overnights to Strasburg/Amish country are fun. The train stuff is awesome but there is also Dutch Wonderland and the Amish activities (farms, buggy rides) for a more gender-neutral experience. Oh, and shopping.
    For a day trip, too, Mount Lake Gretna is lovely.
    And for a slightly further trip, try DC. All museums are free so if one fails to capture the imagination, you don’t feel like you lost anything if you leave in 10 minutes. And in summer, the residents get out of town (literally) so you have the place to yourself and hotels are surprisingly cheap.
    There’s good camping up near the mountain house of my in-laws at Worlds End State Park and Rickett’s Glen. There are a few cute little towns around but mostly just camping stuff. But it’s cheap cheap cheap.
    I’ll think of something else too I’m sure.

Leave a Reply

